Sometimes you aren’t feeling it with a match, you need a break, or, sometimes, someone’s crossed the line. If you need to block someone for any reason, we’re here to support you with our blocking and hiding features.
What Does Blocking Actually Do?
Blocking another member means they won’t be able to message you anymore and you won’t be seeing them in any of your matches (ie in MeetMe). If you block someone who’s an upgraded member, they’ll still be able to search for you using our username search, but they won’t be able to send you any messages. If you block someone you’ve already messaged, blocking them will delete your chat history.
If you have a change of heart or they have a change of personality, you can always unblock another member. Head over to Edit Profile > Settings or use this link and view your list of blocked profiles. Select the person and unblock them to welcome them back into your life. You can only unblock from the Plenty of Fish website right now, so you’ll have to log on to a desktop computer!
Hiding Your Account
There may be times, like if you start a new relationship, when you might not want your profile to be seen by other members. Of course, anytime your profile is hidden, it won’t be displayed in search results. Since this makes your chances of finding a match lower, only hide your profile when you’re taking a break or you’ve met someone you’re interested in.
How to Hide Your Account
Click your photo thumbnail in the header and then choose your visibility preference. You can let anyone view you or hide your profile from everyone.
If you check out another member's profile while yours is hidden, our system still registers that you were there, but won’t show who you are. Once you’re unhidden, your profile will show in their "Who's Viewed Me" section.
You might notice your profile counter increasing while your profile’s still hidden. This can happen when members who know your username try (unsuccessfully) to search up your profile. No worries, you’re still hidden.