How does Photo Verification work?
Photo Verification consists of one simple step: taking a video selfie. You will receive "selfie verified" status if the person in your video selfie passes both the Liveness Check and 3D Face Authentication steps.
The Liveness Check scans the face in your video and helps us confirm that the video was taken by a real, live person, and that it was not digitally altered or manipulated. 3D Face Authentication detects your face in your video selfie and your profile photo, and extracts facial geometries using facial recognition technology to generate a unique number or facial geometry “template.” These templates are used to check whether the person in your video selfie is the same person as in your profile photo.
Your facial geometry templates are deleted within 24 hours. Your video selfie is deleted and is not added to your profile.
How do you use my Photo Verification information?
We will only use your facial recognition information for the purposes of Photo Verification.
What will you keep after Photo Verification is complete?
We will keep the results of the Photo Verification process (i.e., verified or not). We do not keep the underlying facial recognition information or “template” beyond the Photo Verification process (which is usually complete within 24 hours). We do not keep your video selfie.
Under what legal authority do you process the Photo Verification information?
We process the Photo Verification information only with your consent.
What is Plenty of Fish’s Policy for the retention and destruction of biometric information?
Biometric information—namely, facial geometries that allow us to conduct facial recognition on your video selfie and profile photo for the purposes of completing Photo Verification—are only created and retained with your consent for the duration of the Photo Verification process. Photo Verification may take up to 24 hours. Once your Photo Verification is complete, the biometric information is deleted.
When Plenty of Fish deletes the biometric information following the completion of the Photo Verification processes, it is permanently purged from its systems and can no longer be retrieved.
How do I find more information about Plenty of Fish’s data practices, including my privacy rights?
What if I have another question?
Contact us anytime!